All Articles
All Articles Fuelling Guides Sport Training Tips Athletes Diversity Athlete Insight Series News Uncategorised Recipes Podcast Uncategorized Products & Recipes Videos Product Guides

Formerly Team Sky, the INEOS Grenadiers is a Britishprofessional cycling teamoriginally established in 2010 with the intention of winning the Tour de France with a British rider within five years. Bradley Wiggins achieved it in two, becoming the first British rider ever to do so. Since then, fellow British riders Chris Froome, who came in second in 2012 as Wiggins’ domestique, went on to win it again for the Grenadiers in 2013, 15, 16 & 17. To cement the success of the team Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal won in 2017 & 2018 respectively. In doing so they cemented the INEOS Grenadiers as one of the most successful teams in world cycling.  


Team name: INEOS Grenadiers 

Founded: 2010 

Based: National Cycling Centre, Manchester, UK 

Team Principal: Sir Dave Brailsford 


Science in Sport is immensely proud of its longstanding, collaborative partnership with the INEOS Grenadiers. As well as providing the team with highly tailored nutrition solutions, SiS’s expert nutritionists are embedded in the Grenadiers’ performance staff to continually advise and manage the team’s nutrition strategy. Having supported the team for numerous Grand Tour victories, Science in Sport will continue to work with the INEOS Grenadiers through the 2024 season. 


The INEOS Grenadiers’ success transcends Grand Tour racing although they are the biggest races of the year, we’ve fuelled the team to remarkable achievements in all aspects of cycling, from World Championship success, and Olympic podiums in Mountain Biking, and further to a new Hour Record which looks to have set it out of sight for this generation of riders. The success of the team and the development of our performance solutions partnerships go hand in hand, with the longevity of the partnerships spanning over a decade, something which is rarely seen in the pro peloton, it shows the symbiotic relationship that the Team and Science in Sport have.  


Despite Bradley Wiggins’ historic Tour de France win in 2012, Chris Froome is arguably the team’s most successful rider, winning seven Grand Tours, including four editions of the Tour de France. Riders such as Geraint Thomas, Egan Bernal, and Tao Geoghegan Hart have taken the mantle of continuing the team’s legacy by adding to its palmares.  

The team now includes a diverse roster of riders, from pure time-triallists like Filippo Ganna, to multi-discipline riders like Tom Pidcock. The team also has World Champion Mountain bike riders in Pauline Ferrand-Prévot. This new wide-ranging style of cycling is continually pushing the partnership as we continue to offer and create bespoke products through our Science in Sport Lab Range which feeds the new product development which is available to all.  


  • 2012 – Bradley Wiggins wins the team’s first ever Tour de France and two weeks later he goes on to win Olympic Gold at London 2012. He also leads out Mark Cavendish around the final corner on his way to victory on the Champs-Élysées. Creating one of the most iconic moments in the history of British Cycling. 
  • 2013 – The team backs up their 2012 win with Chris Froome’s first of 4 Tour victories.  
  • 2014 – Team Sky achieve their first-ever rainbow bands through Bradley Wiggins.  
  • 2016 – A monument is picked up by Wout Pouls, and the team have their most successful Classics campaign.  
  • 2018 – Chris Froome wins the Giro d’Italia in emphatic fashion, taking on a solo 80km breakaway, catapulting himself into the lead and in doing so holds all three Grand Tour victories in the space of 12 months. All thanks to the innovation of the Beta Fuel range allowing for the maximum amount of energy to power the most incredible comeback in the history of cycling. 
  • 2020 – The team have their most successful Grand Tour ever with Tao Geoghegan Hart winning the 2020 Giro d’Italia on the final stage and the team picking up 7 stages in total.  
  • 2021 – The team achieves Olympic Gold in the Mountain Bike XC with Tom Pidcock. Bringing a new style of riding achievement into the palmares of the team.  
  • 2022 – The Hour Record is smashed by Filippo Ganna, potentially pushing it beyond the reach of this current generation of riders.  
Written By

The Performance Solutions Team