Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat

John Clarke
Non-Executive Chairman

John Clarke wurde im Juni 2013 zum Non-Executive Chairman ernannt. John Clarke verfügt nach über 35 Jahren bei GlaxoSmithKline über weitläufige Erfahrung in den Bereichen funktionelle Lebensmittel und Sportlernahrung. John Clarke war von 2006 bis 2011 weltweiter Leiter von GSK Consumer Healthcare und war bis März 2012 Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von GlaxoSmithKline plc.
Unter der Leitung von John Clarke war GSK Consumer Healthcare von 2006 bis 2011 das Unternehmen mit dem schnellsten Wachstum der Branche – in Höhe von 60 % – und einem Umsatz von 5 Mrd. GBP trotz eines Rückgang in den meisten Märkten des Unternehmens. Das Unternehmen verzeichnete einen Umsatzzuwachs von 2 Mrd. GBP im Vergleich zu 2006. John Clarke war 15 Jahre lang, zwischen 1996 und 2011, für die Marke Lucozade verantwortlich. Er leitete Bereiche wie Strategie, Innovationsplanung, Portfolio und internationale Expansion. Während dieses Zeitraums erzielte Lucozade eine Wachstumsrate von 13 %.

Dawson Buck
Non-Executive Director

Dawson Buck arbeitet bereits seit über 20 Jahren als Führungskraft im internationalen Bereich in den Branchen elektronische Sicherheit, Immobilien, Einzelhandel und IT. Dawson Buck war Gründer und CEO von Automated Loss Prevention Ltd, einem Unternehmen, das er vom Gründungsstadium bis zum Verkauf an Sensormatic Electronic Corporation Inc. im Jahr 1992 leitete. Bis 2005 war Dawson Buck als Deputy Chief Executive bei ANGLE plc tätig.

Raymond Duignan
Non-Executive Director

Raymond Duignan hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Branche, da er selbst Mitte der 1990er Jahre Stamford Partners, eine Investitionsbank speziell für die europäische Lebensmittel- und Getränkebranche, ins Leben rief. Die Bank bietet finanzielle, unternehmensbezogene und strategische Beratungsdienstleistungen für Unternehmen an und hat sich so zum Marktführer für Transaktionen in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkebranche entwickelt. Zu den Kunden des Unternehmens zählten seinerzeit Unilever, Nestlé, Mars, Pepsico, Sara Lee, Best Foods, United Biscuits und Pernod Ricard neben einer Vielzahl kleinerer Unternehmen wie etwa Green and Black's, Jordans, Innocent und Ella's Kitchen sowie Privatkapitalgesellschaften. 2012 zog sich Raymond Duignan von Stamford Partners zurück. Raymond Duignan fungiert derzeit als Non-Executive Director bei der Finsbury Food Group und hält weitere Beraterfunktionen inne.

Stephen Moon
CEO

Stephen Moon ist seit über 25 Jahren als Führungskraft in verschiedenen Funktionen innerhalb der Lebensmittelmarkenindustrie tätig. Stephen Moon ist ehemaliger Strategy Planning and Worldwide Business Development Director der Nutritional-Healthcare-Sparte von GlaxoSmithKline, wo er unter anderem gemeinsam mit John Clarke an der Entwicklung der Lucozade-Sport-Marke arbeitete.

Vergütungsausschuss

Der Vergütungsausschuss setzt sich aus dem Vorsitzenden und den nicht geschäftsführenden Direktoren (Non-Executive Directors) zusammen. John Clarke führt den Vorsitz des Ausschusses, der je nach Bedarf zusammenkommt.
Der Ausschuss begutachtet die Leistung der Vorstandsmitglieder, bestimmt und überprüft Höhe und Struktur sowie Basis der Vergütung und die Bedingungen der Leistungsvereinbarungen unter Berücksichtigung der Interessen der Anleger. Ziel des Vergütungsausschusses ist es, durch die Festlegung der Vergütung für Vorstandsmitglieder hoch kompetente Führungskräfte anzuwerben und zu binden. Der Vergütungsausschuss spricht außerdem gegenüber dem Vorstand Empfehlungen zur Vergabe von Wertpapieren an Mitarbeiter aus.

Kein Vorstandsmitglied oder Anwärter auf eine solche Position kann an Gesprächen oder Entscheidungen zur eigenen Vergütung teilnehmen.

Prüfungsausschuss

Der Prüfungsausschuss setzt sich aus dem Vorsitzenden und den nicht geschäftsführenden Direktoren (Non-Executive Directors) zusammen. Dawson Buck führt den Vorsitz des Ausschusses, der wenigstens zwei Mal im Jahr zusammenkommt.
Der Prüfungsausschuss ist dafür verantwortlich, sicherzustellen, dass die finanzielle Leistung des Unternehmens korrekt dokumentiert und geprüft wird und es hält eine Besprechung mit den Prüfern und überprüft deren Berichte bezüglich Konten und internen Kontrollsysteme. Die Prüfungsausschuss trifft sich ein Mal jährlich mit den Prüfern, wobei keines der geschäftsführenden Vorstandsmitglieder anwesend ist.

Nominierungsausschuss

Der Nominierungsausschuss setzt sich aus dem Vorsitzenden und den nicht geschäftsführenden Direktoren (Non-Executive Directors) zusammen. John Clarke führt den Vorsitz des Ausschusses, der je nach Bedarf mindestens ein Mal im Jahr zusammenkommt.

Der Nominierungsausschuss ist für die Begutachtung der Struktur, Größe und Zusammensetzung des Vorstands verantwortlich und spricht dem Vorstand gegenüber Empfehlungen für Veränderungen und für die Besetzung von Vorstandsposten aus.

Unternehmensführung

Das Unternehmen ist an keinen bestimmten Unternehmensführungskodex gebunden (z. B. „UK Corporate Governance Code“). Allerdings bestrebt das Unternehmen, soweit für ein Unternehmen seiner Größe und Natur machbar und angemessen, den Vorgaben des UK Corporate Governance Code zu folgen. Das Unternehmen hat zwei unabhängige, nicht geschäftsführende Direktoren, die dem Vorstand unparteiische Sichtweisen vortragen. Der Vorstand ist für die Formulierung, Begutachtung und Zulassung der Strategie, des Budgets und des unternehmerischen Handelns der Science in Sport Group verantwortlich. Die Vorstandsmitglieder beabsichtigen, vier Vorstandssitzungen pro Jahr und weitere Sitzung je nach Bedarf zu halten. Die Science in Sport Group hat einen Prüfungs-, einen Vergütungs- und einen Nominierungsausschuss eingerichtet denen förmliche Pflichten und Verantwortungen übertragen wurden.

Board of Directors

John Clarke

Non-Executive Chairman

John Clarke became Non-Executive Chairman in June 2013. John has extensive experience of the functional food and sports nutrition sectors, having worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than 35 years. John was global President of GSK Consumer Healthcare from 2006 to 2011, and was a member of GlaxoSmithKline plc Corporate Executive Team until March 2012.
Under John’s leadership from 2006 to 2011 GSK Consumer Healthcare was the fastest-growing business in the industry, growing by 60% and reaching sales of £5 billion despite recessionary environments in the majority of the business’ markets. The business added £2 billion in turnover from 2006. Mr Clarke was responsible for the Lucozade brand including strategy, innovation programme, portfolio and global expansion for 15 years from 1996 to 2011, Lucozade achieved growth of 13% CAGR throughout this period.

Raymond Duignan

Non-Executive Director

Raymond has extensive industry experience having set up a specialist investment bank, Stamford Partners, in the mid-1990s advising the European food and drink industries. The firm became a market leader in food and drink transactions in Europe, offering financial and corporate advisory services as well as strategy consulting. Clients of the firm included Unilever, Nestle, Mars, Pepsico, Sara Lee, Best Foods, United Biscuits and Pernod Ricard as well as a range of smaller businesses such as Green and Black's, Jordans, Innocent and Ella's Kitchen and leading private equity firms. Raymond retired from Stamford Partners in 2012. Raymond is currently a non-executive director at Finsbury Food Group and holds other advisory positions.

Tim Wright

Non-Executive Director

Tim Wright, has spent much of his career with GlaxoSmithKline (''GSK''), working in the consumer healthcare sector of the Company from 1982 to 2011. In his last 5 years at GSK, Tim was President of GSK's Global Brands, where he drove market leading revenue growth through world class marketing and innovation. After leaving GSK in 2011, Tim was appointed as President to Zarbee's Naturals, a privately owned natural medicine business. His role up to 2013 was to help establish the Company's brand and quickly grow the newly formed business from $3 million to $18 million. In 2014, Tim set up his own business, StepChange Strategy, which aims to create shareholder value for startup and multinational consumer healthcare companies, by focusing on brand strategy, innovation and geographic expansion. In 2015 Tim acquired, and now runs, Embrace Hearing.

Stephen Moon

CEO

Stephen has over 25 years’ senior cross-functional experience in the grocery brands industry. Stephen was formerly the Strategy Planning and Worldwide Business Development Director for GlaxoSmithKline’s Nutritional Healthcare business, and he worked closely with John Clarke in developing the Lucozade Sport brand.

Elizabeth Lake

CFO

Elizabeth is a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years' experience in blue chip organisations. Elizabeth was formerly the Finance Director at Hugo Boss, covering the UK, Ireland and Scandinavia.

Remuneration committee

The remuneration committee consists of the Chairman and the non-executive Directors. It is chaired by John Clarke and meets as required during the year.

The committee reviews the performance of the executive Directors and sets and reviews the scale and structure of their remuneration and the basis of their remuneration and the terms of their service agreements with due regard to the interests of Shareholders. In determining the remuneration of executive Directors, the remuneration committee seeks to enable the Company to attract and retain executives of the highest calibre. The remuneration committee also makes recommendations to the Board concerning the allocation of share options to employees.

No Director or Proposed Director is permitted to participate in discussions or decisions concerning their own remuneration.

Audit committee

The audit committee consists of the Chairman and the non-executive Directors. It is chaired by Raymond Duignan and it meets at least twice each year.

The audit committee is responsible for ensuring that the financial performance of the Company is properly reported on and monitored and for meeting with the auditors and reviewing the reports from the auditors relating to accounts and internal control systems. The audit committee meets once a year with the auditors without executive Board members present.

Nominations committee

The nominations committee consists of the Chairman and the non-executive Directors. It is chaired by John Clarke and meets as required, at least once during the year.

The nominations committee is responsible for reviewing the structure, size and composition of the Board, making recommendations to the Board with regard to any changes and identifying and nominating candidates to fill Board vacancies.

Corporate Governance

The Company is not compliant with any specific corporate governance code (e.g. Combined Code). The Company does seek however, so far as is practicable and appropriate for a company of its size and nature, to comply with the provisions of the UK Corporate Governance Code. The Company has two independent non-executive Directors to bring an independent view to the Board. The Board is responsible for formulating, reviewing and approving the Science in Sport Group’s strategy, budgets and corporate actions. The Directors intend to hold meetings of the Board four times per annum, and at other times as and when required. The Science in Sport Group has established audit, remuneration and nomination committees with formally delegated duties and responsibilities.